+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    6

    Crossfire with different brands?

    Hello, I have a question for you hardware pro´s. I have a Crossfire motherboard in my PC and I am thinking of buying a second Radeon 3870 for my computer. Does it have to be the same brand as my old one? I mean if it causes trouble with drivers an such. My card is mad by Sapphire with GDDR 4 and it reduces my chance to find one on the used market if I have to search for a Sapphire specifically.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    4,510
    Welcome,

    No you can get any card you like. Try to match the type of memory for best performance though. Otherwise, go nuts

    //Andreas
    "I'm sort of a postmodern vegetarian, I eat meat ironically"
    "You are our Swedish superhero "

    Forget everything, knowledge is your enemy, it's only going to make you second-guess yourself."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    858
    Nice nickname and avatar!

    As said, you can mix how you like.

    OT: Do you have an A1?
    Open Source > *

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    6
    @Delph1: Thanks for the fast answer. Thats good news.

    @facktamo: Yes, I have an AmigaOne with AmigaOS 4.1. I didn´t find a good logo for AmigaOS 4.1 yesterday but I will update my avatar to version 4.1 soon.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    858
    Quote Originally Posted by AmigaOne
    Yes, I have an AmigaOne with AmigaOS 4.1. I didn´t find a good logo for AmigaOS 4.1 yesterday but I will update my avatar to version 4.1 soon.

    Cool. What do you use it for?

    Some old legacy AmigaOS applications?
    Open Source > *

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    6
    @facktamo: Of course but I mostly use up-to-date programs. Recording music and encoding it via Lame or listening to streamed radio are examples of what I do. My Envy24HT-based sound card really brings good sound quality. Perfect Paint is still updated regularly so I still use it. Playing old games is also fun, the ones that doesn´t work with the built in JIT-emulator I run via E-UAE. If it wasn´t for that I am a gamer my AmigaOne would replace my PC completely.

    ps. Nice avatar

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    84
    You can buy a second 3870 of any brand but it must have the same memory type. Ganing machinery!! 2*3870!!
    GREEK RIFLEs!!

    ______________________

    May the GE-Force be with You!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Crossfire on a P35
    By Noxman in forum General hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-20-2009, 06:17 AM
  2. Anyone say crossfire?
    By Mean Machine in forum Overclocking & 3D Team
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-01-2007, 07:20 PM
  3. Crossfire for laptops
    By in forum News archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-11-2006, 04:34 PM
  4. Anandtech tries out the "new" CrossFire
    By in forum News archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-21-2005, 03:58 AM
  5. HDR: CrossFire vs. SLI
    By in forum News archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-31-2005, 10:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts