+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32

Thread: AW9D Max

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,008

    AW9D Max

    So, I've finally got mine up and running... Getting the Raid 0 setup was a bit of a pain (at least in comparison to the 680I).

    I've taken the pelt and the coldplate off my Maze4-1 and strapped it on there as tight as I can, and man... It's not working too hot, or, rather it IS working too hot.:?

    Idling at ~40C in windows... Once I get this board prepped for the pelt it should be back to idling around 0C 8)
    OMG I sold my computer... Using my GFs. E4300 on a P5NSLI. NON E version. Yeah, that means it's the one that literally can't do a 10mhz OC. (9Mhz worked... for a while).

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    4,510
    Ah, good luck

    //Andreas
    "I'm sort of a postmodern vegetarian, I eat meat ironically"
    "You are our Swedish superhero "

    Forget everything, knowledge is your enemy, it's only going to make you second-guess yourself."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, La Suede
    Posts
    1,739
    Great, now do a few runs, kick some real ass and wait to get run over yourself, at least in 3DMark 01. :P
    Man, or woman, or both?
    Grandis spiritus, sanctus diavolos

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,008
    Well, I still haven't figured this board out completely, nor do I think my WC is working quite upto snuff, but I did manage to laydown a couple benches last night, and have it at 3.8 right now...

    I could get into windows at 3.95, but it wasn't stable, and even though I was using 1.5V it was absurdly hot...

    I think I have poor contact with the WB, and I've tried atleast 3 times to reseat it, just doesn't want to work right without the coldplate... But I'd have to have the pelt in there to use that... And I'd need to prep the board first...

    Either way, I'm rediculously close to beating my old PC Mark scores (up into the 9600+ area now), and I still don't have my ram setup (sub 1000Mhz,4-4-4-11) :twisted:
    OMG I sold my computer... Using my GFs. E4300 on a P5NSLI. NON E version. Yeah, that means it's the one that literally can't do a 10mhz OC. (9Mhz worked... for a while).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, La Suede
    Posts
    1,739
    Nice going, lookin' forward to some additional benches as you get used to the system.
    Man, or woman, or both?
    Grandis spiritus, sanctus diavolos

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,008
    So, I bought some clear nailpolish this time, and hopefully it'll work better than the silicon conformal coating (and be less messy).

    I'm getting a pair of 74GB Raptors, and those should hopefully help speed things up over my 320s (although they are SATA II 16MB cache...).

    I'm still not having any luck getting the ram ANYWHERE CLOSE to where it was on my 680I (1250+). So I'm just going to work on tightening it up... currently working on 4-4-4-8 at ~1000Mhz.

    Once I get my pelt back on there, things should get really interesting, really quick...

    *Also, if anyone knows any good OC'ing hints or walkthroughs for this board it'd be really appreciated...
    OMG I sold my computer... Using my GFs. E4300 on a P5NSLI. NON E version. Yeah, that means it's the one that literally can't do a 10mhz OC. (9Mhz worked... for a while).

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    4,510
    A start perhaps:
    http://www.nordichardware.com/Reviews/?skrivelse=489

    Dont' hesitate to contact crotale if you want more info. (crotale@nordiccrew.com)

    //Andreas
    "I'm sort of a postmodern vegetarian, I eat meat ironically"
    "You are our Swedish superhero "

    Forget everything, knowledge is your enemy, it's only going to make you second-guess yourself."

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,008
    Yeah, already went over that one... Doesn't offer any setup info, just results...

    Was looking more for some tips with settings and whatnot...

    It's goin alright, I'm just hoping that there is more available that I just haven't noticed...
    OMG I sold my computer... Using my GFs. E4300 on a P5NSLI. NON E version. Yeah, that means it's the one that literally can't do a 10mhz OC. (9Mhz worked... for a while).

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    26
    i975X is not clocking memory very well in general. On the other hand, they're doing very well when it comes to latency and clock to clock performance.
    Intel Core 2 Extreme X6800 @ 5300MHz, EVGA NF680i, Corsair Dominator 8888
    Kinc + crotale: 01 - 89270, 03 - 85032, 05 - 31174, 1M: 9,896

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,008
    I definatly noticed the clock to clock performace compared to the 680I...
    Extra 350 points in 3Dmark06... At 200Mhz slower, with MUCH slower memory clocks! (12465 @3750 vs 12114 @ 3950)

    I guess I'll just have to see how tight I can get it... Just a shame to see this memory going to waste on this board... Vasoline works for di-electric grease right?
    OMG I sold my computer... Using my GFs. E4300 on a P5NSLI. NON E version. Yeah, that means it's the one that literally can't do a 10mhz OC. (9Mhz worked... for a while).

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, La Suede
    Posts
    1,739
    Quote Originally Posted by magicman
    Vasoline works for di-electric grease right?
    It should do that, yes.
    Man, or woman, or both?
    Grandis spiritus, sanctus diavolos

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,008
    Excellent :twisted:
    OMG I sold my computer... Using my GFs. E4300 on a P5NSLI. NON E version. Yeah, that means it's the one that literally can't do a 10mhz OC. (9Mhz worked... for a while).

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, La Suede
    Posts
    1,739
    Just gave my board a shot of vaseline, it proved itself to work very nicely. No condensation that I've came across yet at least.
    Man, or woman, or both?
    Grandis spiritus, sanctus diavolos

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,008
    So where are all the bench scores, and the details? (Pics too)
    OMG I sold my computer... Using my GFs. E4300 on a P5NSLI. NON E version. Yeah, that means it's the one that literally can't do a 10mhz OC. (9Mhz worked... for a while).

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, La Suede
    Posts
    1,739
    Quote Originally Posted by magicman
    So where are all the bench scores, and the details? (Pics too)
    Gimme ten minutes, gotta upload pics etc.
    Man, or woman, or both?
    Grandis spiritus, sanctus diavolos

Similar Threads

  1. Finally, 500+ FSB on AW9D-MAX
    By Crotale in forum Overclocking & 3D Team
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-14-2007, 08:30 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-26-2006, 01:39 AM
  3. Abit AW9D-MAX overclocking review
    By in forum News archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-08-2006, 07:20 PM
  4. ABIT AW9D-MAX preview
    By in forum News archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-23-2006, 10:13 PM
  5. ABIT AW9D-MAX & AW9D launched
    By in forum News archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-18-2006, 02:37 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts